About FESB

The faculty has 29 477 m2 of space ensuring good conditions necessary for studying and scientific and professional work.

It is the largest Faculty on the University of Split and the largest technical faculty outside of Zagreb. Across the Faculty’s 9 floors, 3 wings are connected by hallways, navigation through those being made easy with clear signs on every cross-hallway.

There are 80 labs, 9 amphitheaters and 15 classrooms, with free wireless internet available everywhere. The faculty has approximately 2,700 students.

Research potential

There is a great potential for scientific research activities at the Faculty which are conducted mainly by individual scientific and technological projects funded by the Ministry of Science, Education and Sports. Some of those are: DUMP, UPS, AIESEC, IAESTE, IEEE and student radio.

Research activities at the Faculty measured with relevant publications from the foundation of the Faculty are about 350 journal papers in journals indexed in Current Contents, 430 other journals papers and 1500 conference papers. University of Split, which FESB is member of, is ranked according to the SCImago Institutions Rankings report for the 2011 at 4th place in the region research-devoted institutions.

Faculty employees have been continuously engaged in numerous projects and have been visiting professors and researchers at international universities and institutes. FESB researches collaborated or were heads of numerous international and bilateral projects such as the Croatian-Slovenian, Croatian-French, Framework Programme 6 Marie Curie as well as: COST, ALIS STATES, CEEPUS, CMS and ALICE at CERN, EGEE II, MAGIC and several TEMPUS projects.


The Faculty of Electrical Engineering in Split was established in 1960 as a fully autonomous and independent organization within the University of Zagreb.

It was first located within the Bishop’s Palace. In 1971 the Faculty renamed itself as the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture in Split (FESB).

The current, new building had its first construction phase finished in 1980, with the second phase of the large project completed in 2007. In 2005, FESB introduced a new credit transfer system called ECTS (European Credit Transfer System).